Academic Calendar

Chatham University's academic year consists of fall, spring and summer terms. Please note that some classes may have fewer meeting days, and these classes will include equivalent instructional activities to accommodate this difference. The University reserves the right to make changes to the academic calendar as it deems necessary.

2021-2022 Universal Academic Calendar

15-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 23
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, August 31
Labor Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, September 6
Long Weekend Saturday-Tuesday, October 2-5, 2021
Midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, October 8
Incomplete grades from Spring/Summer 2021, before 12:00 noon Friday, October 8
Registration for degree-seeking students for Spring 2022 Tues-Fri, Nov 2-12
Registration for non-degree students for Spring 2022 Tuesday, November 16
Last day to withdraw Wednesday, November 10
Last day to apply for Fall 2021 (December) degree conferral Monday, November 15
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun, Nov 24-Nov 28
Last day of classes Friday, December 10
Commencement Ceremony, 2:00 PM Friday, December 10
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 13
Late registration for Spring 2022 begins Monday, December 13
Degree conferral for Fall 2021 graduates Thursday, December 30
Diplomas mailed during the week of Monday, January 10

First 7.5-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 23
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, August 31
Labor Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, September 6
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, September 28
Last day of classes Tuesday, October 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Thursday, October 14

Second 7.5-week term

First day of classes Thursday, October 14
Add/drop period ends Thursday, October 21
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, November 23
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun, Nov 24-Nov 28
Last day of classes Friday, December 10
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 13

First 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 23
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, August 31
Labor Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, September 6
Last day to withdraw Friday, September 17
Last day of classes Friday, September 24
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, September 27

Second 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, September 27
Add/drop period ends Monday, October 4
Last day to withdraw Friday, October 22
Last day of classes Friday, October 29
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, November 1

Third 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, November 1
Add/drop period ends Monday, November 8
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun-November 24-28
Last day to withdraw Friday, December 3
Last day of classes Friday, December 10
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, December 13

15-week term

First day of classes Wednesday, January 5
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 12
Martin Luther King Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, January 17
Registration for Summer 2022 Wednesday, February 9
Midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 noon Friday, February 25
Incomplete grades for Fall 2021, before 12:00 noon Friday, February 25
Spring Break Sun-Sun, February 27-March 6
Registration for degree-seeking students for Fall 2022 Tuesday-Friday, March 8-18
Registration for non-degree students for Fall 2022 Tuesday, March 22
Last day to apply for Spring 2022 (May) degree conferral Tuesday, March 22
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, March 22
Last day of classes Friday, April 22
Commencement Ceremony, 1:00 PM Sunday, April 24
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, April 25
Late registration for Fall 2022 begins Monday, April 25
Degree conferral for Spring 2022 graduates Monday, May 30
Diplomas mailed during the week of Monday, June 27

First 7.5-week term

First day of classes Wednesday, January 5
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 12
Martin Luther King Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, January 17
Last day to withdraw Friday, February 11
Last day of classes Friday, February 25
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, February 28

Second 7.5-week term (Partial Spring Break is observed)

First day of classes Thursday, March 3
Add/drop period ends Thursday, March 10
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 8
Last day of classes Friday, April 22
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, April 25

 

First 5-week term

First day of classes Wednesday, January 5
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 12
Last day to withdraw Friday, January 28
Last day of classes Friday, February 4
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, February 7

Second 5-week term 

First day of classes Monday, February 7
Add/drop period ends Monday, February 14
Last day to withdraw Friday, March 4
Last day of classes Friday, March 11
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, March 14

Third 5-week term 

First day of classes Monday, March 14
Add/drop period ends Monday, March 21
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 8
Last day of classes Friday, April 15
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, April 18

15-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 25
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 2
Memorial Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, May 30
Last day to apply for Summer 2022 (August) degree conferral Wednesday, June 15
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, July 5
Last day of classes Friday, August 5
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, August 8
Degree conferrals for Summer 2022 Tuesday, August 30
Diplomas mailed during the week of Monday, September 12

10-week term (ELP)

First day of classes Tuesday, May 31
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, June 7
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Friday, July 15
Last day of classes Friday, August 5
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, August 8

First 7.5-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 25
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 2
Memorial Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, May 30
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, May 31
Last day of classes Tuesday, June 14
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Thursday, June 16

Second 7.5-week term

First day of classes Thursday, June 16
Add/drop period ends Thursday, June 23
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Friday, July 22
Last day of classes Friday, August 5
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, August 8

First 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 25
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 2
Last day to withdraw Friday, May 20
Last day of classes Friday, May 27
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, May 30

Second 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, June 6
Add/drop period ends Monday, June 13
Last day to withdraw Friday, July 1
Last day of classes Friday, July 8
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, July 11

Third 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, July 11
Add/drop period ends Monday, July 18
Last day to withdraw Friday, August 5
Last day of classes Friday, August 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, August 15

First 3-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 25
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, April 27
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 29
Last day of classes Friday, May 13
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, May 16

Second 3-week term

First day of classes Monday, June 13
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, June 15
Last day to withdraw Friday, June 17
Last day of classes Friday, July 1
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Tuesday, July 5

Third 3-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 1
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, August 3
Last day to withdraw Friday, August 5
Last day of classes Friday, August 19
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 noon Monday, August 22

2022-2023 Universal Academic Calendar

15-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 29
Labor Day - HOLIDAY, No classes Monday, September 5
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 6
Long Weekend Saturday-Tuesday, October 8-11
Midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 Noon Friday, October 14
Incomplete grades from Spring/Summer 2022, before 12:00 Noon Friday, October 14
Registration for Spring 2023 Tues-Tues, November 8-22
Last day to apply for Fall 2022 (December) degree conferral Tuesday, November 15
Last day to withdraw Wednesday, November 16
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun, November 23-27
Last day of classes Friday, December 16
Commencement Ceremony, 11:00 a.m. Saturday, December 17
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, December 19
Late registration for Spring 2023 begins Monday, December 19
Degree conferral for Fall 2022 graduates Friday, December 30
Diplomas mailed during week of Monday, January 16

1st 7.5-week term 

First day of classes Monday, August 29
Labor Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, September 5
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 6
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, October 4
Last day of classes Tuesday, October 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Thursday, October 20

2nd 7.5-week term 

First day of classes Thursday, October 20
Add/drop period ends Thursday, October 27
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun, November 23-27
Last day to withdraw Friday, December 2
Last day of classes Friday, December 16
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, December 19

1st 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, August 29
Labor Day - HOLIDAY - no classes Monday, September 5
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, September 6
Last day to withdraw Friday, September 23
Last day of classes Friday, September 30
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, October 3

2nd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, October 3
Add/drop period ends Monday, October 10
Last day to withdraw Friday, October 28
Last day of classes Friday, November 4
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, November 7

3rd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, November 7
Add/drop period ends Monday, November 14
Thanksgiving Break Wed-Sun, November 23-27
Last day to withdraw Friday, December 9
Last day of classes Friday, December 16
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, December 19

15-week term

First day of classes Wednesday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 11 
Martin Luther King Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, January 16
Registration for Summer 2023 Thursday, February 2
Midterm undergraduate grades, before 12:00 Noon Friday, February 24
Incomplete grades for Fall 2022, before 12:00 Noon Friday, February 24
Spring Break Sun-Sun, February 26-March 5
Registration for Fall 2023 Tues-Tues, March 7-21
Last day to apply for Spring 2023 (May) degree conferral Wednesday, March 15
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, March 21
Last day of classes Friday, April 21
Commencement Ceremony, 1:00 p.m. Sunday, April 23
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, April 24
Late registration for Fall 2023 begins Monday, April 24
Degree conferral for Spring 2023 graduates Tuesday, May 30
Diplomas mailed during week of Monday, June 19

1st 7.5-week term 

First day of classes Wednesday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 11
Martin Luther King Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, January 16
Last day to withdraw Friday, February 10
Last day of classes Friday, February 24
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, February 27

2nd 7.5-week term (Partial Spring Break is observed)

First day of classes Wednesday, March 1
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, March 8
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 7
Last day of classes Friday, April 21
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, April 24
   

1st 5-week term

First day of classes Wednesday, January 4
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, January 11
Last day to withdraw Friday, January 27
Last day of classes Friday, February 3
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, February 6

2nd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, February 6
Add/drop period ends Monday, February 13
Last day to withdraw Friday, March 3
Last day of classes Friday, March 10
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, March 13

3rd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, March 13
Add/drop period ends Monday, March 20
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 7
Last day of classes Friday, April 14
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, April 17

15-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 24
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 1
Memorial Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, May 29
Last day to apply for Summer 2023 (August) degree conferral Thursday, June 15
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Wednesday, July 5
Last day of classes Friday, August 4
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, August 7
Degree conferrals for Summer 2023 Wednesday, August 30
Diplomas mailed during week of Monday, September 18

10-week term (ELP) 

First day of classes Tuesday, May 30
Add/drop period ends Tuesday, June 6
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Friday, July 14
Last day of classes Friday, August 4
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, August 7

1st 7.5-week term 

First day of classes Monday, April 24
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 1
Memorial Day - HOLIDAY, no classes Monday, May 29
Last day to withdraw Tuesday, May 30
Last day of classes Tuesday, June 13
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Thursday, June 15

2nd 7.5-week term 

First day of classes Thursday, June 15
Add/drop period ends Thursday, June 22
4th of July - HOLIDAY, no classes Tuesday, July 4
Last day to withdraw Friday, July 21
Last day of classes Friday, August 4
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, August 7

1st 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 24
Add/drop period ends Monday, May 1
Last day to withdraw Friday, May 19
Last day of classes Friday, May 26
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, May 29

2nd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, June 5
Add/drop period ends Monday, June 12
Last day to withdraw Friday, June 30
Last day of classes Friday, July 7
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, July 10

3rd 5-week term

First day of classes Monday, July 10
Add/drop period ends Monday, July 17
Last day to withdraw Friday, August 4
Last day of classes Friday, August 11
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, August 14

1st 3-week term

First day of classes Monday, April 24
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, April 26
Last day to withdraw Friday, April 28
Last day of classes Friday, May 12
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, May 15

2nd 3-week term

First day of classes Monday, July 31
Add/drop period ends Wednesday, August 2
Last day to withdraw Friday, August 4
Last day of classes Friday, August 18
Last day to submit grades, before 12:00 Noon Monday, August 21